Books

Anya’s Ghost

Three posts within two days, am I feeling okay?! This is the first graphic novel I’ve ever read so let’s get straight into reviewing it!

Anya’s Ghost is the first book by author Vera Brosgol. Anya is a Russian immigrant and is, to her dismay, totally unpopular at her high school. After skipping school one morning, Anya falls into an unmarked well and meets Emily. Emily is a ghost who died 90 years before and her and Anya become friends. Emily tries to make Anya popular and happy by cheating at tests and telling her what to say to her crush but things don’t exactly go to plan…

AnyasGhost

As my first graphic novel and getting it as an impulse buy I didn’t really know what to expect from this book but I was very happy with what I got. The storyline was very enjoyable and took twists and turns in all the right places to keep me interested. At times, Anya felt easy to relate to despite her being a foreign student. Both Anya and Emily were loveable characters right up until the massive turning point in the book which (without spoiling it for you) made the book even more fun to read. I found the atmosphere surrounding the graphic novel was very fun with the pictures making it very immersive, the artwork was beautiful and the style of the pictures were wonderful. I’ll pop some of the pages in below which won’t give away any major points in the story.

After reading this book in one sitting and thoroughly enjoying it I couldn’t give it any less than 4*. I didn’t give it 5 because, despite how much I enjoyed it, I didn’t completely love it. In some places the story didn’t make complete sense and it felt like some scenes were just put in there to bulk out the book a bit, but apart from that it was a lovely read and I would definitely recommend.

Anya’s Ghost has definitely inspired me to try out more graphic novels although I think they’ll be a treat as Anya’s Ghost set me back £11.99 with some of the bigger/thicker novels being a lot more.

Until next time,

==Signature==

Leave a Reply

