1970 · Movies

The Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975)

It’s Saturday again which means it’s time for another movie post and this time we’re going to be talking about a cult classic! Unlike the last two posts this is more of a throwback but it’s for a good reason (one of those reasons may be that I spent money on clothes rather than the cinema… Oops)!

So, some of you may have heard of The Rocky Horror Picture Show and if you haven’t then I’m pretty sure you will have by Christmas because they’re remaking it! From my understanding it will be released on Fox on 20/10/16 and has some big stars in it like Laverne Cox (yes!) and Tim Curry (even more yes!). However, I am kind of dreading this remake. After seeing promo videos for it, I’m not best pleased that my one of my favourite musicals has been turned into a bright coloured, pop sounding remake. I will definitely give the new version a watch but no one will ever be better than Tim Curry as Frank N Furter, maybe he’ll carry off his new role as Dr Scott though… Also, what have they done to Riff Raff, Magenta and Columbia (the not so naked ones in the picture below)?!

RockyHorror1

Anyway, I’m not here to talk about the 2016 remake that could crush my heart within the first rendition of Science Fiction, Double Feature. I’m here to talk about the fabulous, thrilling and slightly confusing 1975 version of The Rocky Horror Picture Show! For those of you who are not familiar with Rocky Horror, the basic story line is that Brad Majors and Janet Weiss have just gotten engaged and are driving to see their old teacher Dr Scott to tell him about their engagement (his class is where they met) – on the way, the tire of their car blows and they’re stuck in the middle of nowhere on a stormy night. Having passed a castle, they walk back to it in hope that someone will be living their and will let them use their phone. Luckily, (or maybe not so luckily…) someone answers and once they’re inside the castle, things start to get crazy and thrilling.

Now I may be biased but I love this film. It’s weird, it’s funny and it’s got some bloody good musical numbers in – The Time Warp and Sweet Transvestite just to name a couple! The cast is made up of some pretty big names too; Tim Curry, Susan Sarandon, Richard O’Brien (also one of the writers), Meat Loaf and even good old Christopher Biggins! The story line I explained above seems pretty simple but once inside the castle it can get a bit confusing and if I try to explain it to you then 1) I’ll give major things away and 2) I’ll get even more confused about it myself, so it’s best to watch it with an open mind and just enjoy the sheer theatre of the film.

RockyHorror2

When I first watched this film, I watched it twice in a row with the volume turned louder each time. The songs are amazing and the low budget feel of everything made it even more immersive for me. So that’s soundtrack, set and costume with a tick next to them. The cast did an amazing job at portraying these characters, who doesn’t want to see grown man in full make up, underwear and high heels?

Fact Time! Before it was a film, it was a stage show (yes, I have seen it more than once) but it didn’t do that well until it went into the cinemas – this was where the tradition of dressing up as the characters for the shows was introduced. This tradition has carried on and now if you go to see a stage production or cinema screening of Rocky Horror and decide not to dress up, chances are that you’ll be in the minority! People also take specific props to go along with the story and they also shout out lines at the actors while they’re performing! If you want more Rocky Horror facts, just click on this link and you’ll be able to read more about the movie in a new tab.

RockyHorror3

So, the verdict? I love this film, I really do and while I’m scared for the remake, I’m excited that more people will be able to experience the weird and wonderful Rocky Horror. I am, however, not giving this a perfect score and will be giving it 4* out of 5 simply because the story line is vague once it gets into certain places. If you’re not a fan of musicals or men in tight, sparkly gold shorts then it might be a tough watch for you but I would say it’s worth it just to say you’ve actually seen this cult classic. I would also recommend going to see the stage show if you get a chance because the atmosphere is like nothing I’ve ever experienced in a theatre before.

I have to apologise for the short review (did it even end up as a review or just one massive description?) and I will definitely be reviewing the new one once it’s out. I’d say this was a short but sweet post and I will definitely post a longer one next time. Maybe another throwback? Let me know what you fancy seeing!

Until next time,

==Signature==

Leave a Reply

