2000 · Movies

The Last Kiss (2006)

Hello everybody – another week, another movie review! I’ve actually watched a few movies this week so it was tough to pick one that I wanted to review but I managed to decide on a little film that I discovered a while ago. This time we’re going back to the 00’s with The Last Kiss. This is a film that I found on Netflix a couple of years ago and then bought the DVD because I thought it was quite good (and they took it off Netflix – boo!)

The Last Kiss is about Michael (Zach Braff) who has been with his girlfriend Jenna (Jacinda Barrett) for three years. Jenna becomes pregnant and there is a constant pressure from aspects of their life to get married. Michael starts to panic that his life and youth are over for good when he meets Kim (Rachel Bilson). The story also features relationships of Michael’s friends and Jenna’s family.

TheLastKiss

This film was surprisingly good for something that I had never heard of before and I actually really enjoyed what it had to offer. It’s not your traditional Rom Com but it would probably be put in that category just because it’s not a traditional Romance film. It has multiple story lines going on behind the main focus of Braff and Barrett’s relationship which keeps it a bit more interesting than if it was just following the two main characters. I would like to warn any avid Rom Com watchers that this film is basically all about failing relationships and lust and not about finding new love – sorry!

I was drawn to this film in the beginning because Zach Braff was in it and I never knew he was a Rom Com kind of guy – if you don’t know who Zach Braff is, think of JD from Scrubs!

ZachBraff

The film really did surprise me, though. I enjoyed seeing Braff in a more serious role and the ending was left on a cliff hanger which was nice as it never lets you know if it’s a happy ending or not. However, the film does have a sort of ‘bring down’ atmosphere about it. I wouldn’t recommend watching this film if you’re wanting to get over a breakup or are feeling a bit down just because it shows the not so shiny side of relationships. It’s not a massively long film, only 1h 44min long,  so you can easily sit down and give it a quick watch.

I would give this film 3.5* out of 5 because it was surprisingly enjoyable and I really liked how it showed the other side of a relationship that Rom Com’s don’t usually concentrate on in as much detail as The Last Kiss does. The actors are great at creating a strong and emotional performance and I couldn’t fault them at all. The only thing I would say is that some of the less important story lines feel a bit rushed and confused but apart from that, it’s a great film!

I’m hoping to do a new release review in the next week or two so hopefully you’ll have something brand new to read up on rather than just blasts from the past! Let me know in the comments if you’ve seen this film or if you want to see anything specific being reviewed!

Until next time,

==Signature==

Leave a Reply

