2010 · Movies

Hot Tub Time Machine (2010)

Hello everybody, I hope you’re all well! I’m sorry about the lack of new release posts coming out but I promise there will be more soon! By the end of the month I’ll be able to see them every week so don’t fret, it won’t be throwbacks forever! I was recommended Hot Tub Time Machine because I’m a massive fan of 80s music and style so it seemed like a pretty good film to watch.

Three friends (and a nephew) who are on a losing streak in life go back to a winter resort where they spent their youth partying. Unfortunately, when they return, the resort has turned into a dump but they rally for a night of drinking in the hot tub. It turns out that the hot tub ends up taking them back to 1986 – the last time they were at the resort. The group must navigate the night doing things exactly as they happened in the past to ensure that the nephew is born.

L01C_HTTM_1sht_mech_14.indd

This film was better than I thought it would be but it still didn’t blow me away. In their defence, they got to the going back in time bit pretty fast which was good because I was worried there’d be about 1/4 of the film set in 1986. There’s no doubting, however, that the soundtrack was awesome but that was always going to be the case for me – 80s music just has some kind of hold over me. The actors were all really good in it and I already knew two of them from The Office US (one of my favourite TV shows ever!)

The storyline was okay but at times it felt a bit bare or rushed and I got confused with which characters were meant to be the younger versions, I also would’ve liked to have seen the main 4 actors in their younger forms a bit more as you only really see them when they look in the mirror right when it happens. That being said, the characters do a good job of making the comedy go just far enough for it to work – no annoying recurring jokes or phrases that are overkill. I thought they did a good job of dragging out the one night the characters were in 1986 without it getting boring because I honestly thought they were going to be there for a whole weekend. The ending made me laugh and there’s quite a few jokes that are specific to the 90s/2000s.

Overall, I’d give this film 3* out of 5 just because it wasn’t the best film I’ve seen but it wasn’t the worst either. I do think there were a couple of aspects that saved it from being a 2.5 such as the soundtrack so it’s probably only just a 3* film for me. I’ve heard the sequel is awful so maybe I’ll give it a go just to see or maybe I’ll avoid it altogether, I’m not too sure about that yet. As I said at the beginning of this post, I will have new release reviews coming out very soon so please just sit tight!

Until next time,

==Signature==

2 thoughts on “Hot Tub Time Machine (2010)

Leave a Reply

