2010 · Movies · New Releases

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (2016)

Hello everybody! So, as you can see, this is my first new release review in a while and it is also the first film I saw with my brand new Cineworld Unlimited Card! I was super duper excited for this film because I adore Tim Burton films and I was also *this* close to buying the book from Waterstones a few months ago so maybe now I’ll actually invest in it!

The film follows Jake (Asa Butterfield), a teenage boy from Florida who is very close to his grandpa. When Jake’s grandpa dies suddenly, he is taken to see a therapist who suggests to Jake that he goes and visits the children’s home in Wales where his grandpa grew up. Whilst in Wales, Jake discovers that there is more to the children’s home than there seems and finds that his grandpa’s friends are a little more peculiar than they first seem. Unfortunately, Jake finds himself in the middle of something dangerous and is called upon to help save the children…

missperegrine

I really enjoyed this film, it wasn’t as creepy as I thought it would be but it’s rated as a 12A so it was never going to be terrifying. I loved Eva Green and thought she was an amazing choice for the strange Miss Peregrine – Samuel L. Jackson also made a very intimidating bad guy and I enjoyed watching Asa Butterfield take the lead as I don’t think I’ve seen him in anything else. Eva Green was one of my favourites in the whole film though. After seeing her phenomenal performance in the TV series Penny Dreadful, I was extremely excited to see what she brought to this role and she did not disappoint. The child actors in this film were also amazing at what they did, managing to embody these strange characters with special powers as if it was who they were.

The storyline was really interesting and I was glued to the screen the whole time. I especially enjoyed that you got to learn all of the different peculiarities that the children had as sometimes those little details get left out and I’m nosey and want to know what everyone can do! The monsters in it were creepy but not creepy enough to give you nightmares (thank goodness!) and in true Tim Burton fashion, they were something you could only find in Halloween Town – they also looked a bit like Slenderman but we’ll leave that to opinion…

The thing I disliked about this film was that it didn’t feel that Tim Burton-esque. I’m a massive fan of Tim Burton films and this one just felt al little bit too light, too soft and too colourful. Maybe I was expecting something as strange as Beetlejuice or something like Alice In Wonderland where the colours were all bright and gaudy. I feel like Tim Burton mixes very dark/washed out colours and very bright colours very well which is what helps give his films that little push into the strange side  but with this, it was almost normal. The colours weren’t anything special, the days were sunny and soft – apart from when Jake is in present day Wales, but it’s Wales so we expect it to be miserable and dreary! It wasn’t just the colours, there was just something lacking in the Tim Burton category, to me, it felt like anyone could have directed it. Sorry Tim!

That being said, I really did enjoy this film and will definitely be moving onto the book so I will be giving this film 4* out of 5. It was engaging, the chosen actors were brilliant in their characters and it was directed by one of my favourite directors! I’m not sure if I’d watch it again but I’m glad I went to see it once.

Have you seen this film yet? Let me know your thoughts on it in the comments!

Until next time,

==Signature==

Leave a Reply

