2010 · Movies · New Releases

Bridget Jones’s Baby (2016)

Hello everybody, I hope you’re all doing well! I’ve been making good use of my cinema card so I’ve got a lot of brand new reviews coming up. Hopefully they’re for films you want to see so let me know in the comments if there’s anything specific you want a review for!

I didn’t see the trailer for Bridget Jones’s Baby and think that I had to go and see the film straight away but one afternoon I was bored and thought I’d give it a go because I’d seen the other two films in the series so why not? This film follows a 43 year old Bridget Jones who is in a job she loves and, despite not having a man, is happy at where she is with her life. That’s all turned on its head when she goes to a festival with her friend and meets a man. It also changes when she reunites with Mr Darcy at a christening. These two encounters end up creating some hilarious and awkward situations but overall we get some closure to Bridget Jones and her amusing life.

bridgetjonesbaby

I actually enjoyed this film a lot more than I thought I would. It was funny and dramatic and had quite a good story line. I was very skeptical going into the screen about how this film would pan out because of how the other films were. How was clumsy old Bridget Jones going to cope with having a baby? Was it actually going to be a decent film? Was Hugh Grant going to appear with his 2001 hairstyle? **SPOILER ALERT** Unfortunately, they kill off Hugh Grant right at the beginning of the film which is kind of heart breaking for any followers of the Bridget Jones films.

I have to admit, it was nice to see Renee Zellweger return to the screen as Bridget Jones for the first time in 12 years – yes, 2004 really was that long ago! Seeing her return to her on/off relationship with Colin Firth as Mark Darcy was also enjoyable and with the added bonus of Patrick Dempsey then how can we really complain? The film is a perfect answer to a girly night in and the storyline didn’t fail to make you laugh at almost everything Bridget did. At times you really sympathised with what Bridget was going through and you almost wanted to reach into the screen and give her a big hug.

The one-upmanship from both Mark and Jack was hilarious to watch at times and the film leaves you guessing who the father is all the way to the final scene of the whole film! You forget all about it as soon as one of the cutest babies ever appears and you feel as if you’ve been right next to Bridget for the whole journey. Reunited with old characters and the appearance of new really brings the whole film together, it balances nostalgia and new ideas very well and does a good job to keep you entertained for the 2h 3minutes it runs for. As with any film with such high expectations, it did disappoint a bit. The storyline gets a bit long and drawn out and there’s times where the timeline is unclear – 3 months pregnant seemed to feel like it was only meant to be 3 weeks, one minute there was no bump and the next it was huge…

Overall, I really enjoyed this film and I definitely think I’d watch it again at some point – maybe I’ll have a night in and watch all three back to back one day! For the simple fact that I found it a bit boring at times and got a bit confused as to where in the pregnancy we were meant to be I will be giving this film a 3.5* out of 5. I really did enjoy this film a lot and apart from a few let downs, I thought it was great fun to watch.

Let me know if there’s any films you want me to review, I now have the opportunity to see whatever new releases you want as well as watching some of your favourite classics!

Until next time,

==Signature==

Leave a Reply

