1990 · Movies

Anastasia (1997)

Hello everybody! I’ve been feeling like watching some princess films this week but didn’t really want to go with the typical Disney that everyone has seen a million times (including myself). I was searching through Netflix and I came across Anastasia! I don’t remember watching this as a child, I knew some of the songs and I recognised some of the scenes and characters – Bartok the bat definitely had his own films, right? Anyway, I decided to give it a watch, especially with the announcement of the stage show and I don’t regret it!

Anastasia (Meg Ryan and Liz Callaway) is about a girl who, unbeknownst to her, is the last surviving child of the Russian Royal Family. She is an orphan who is desperate to go to Paris to seek out the meaning behind her necklace and on her mission to get there she meets two con men – Dimitri (John Cusak and Jonathan Dokuchitz) and Vladimir (Kelsey Grammer). However, an evil force in the form of the undead Rasputin (Christopher Lloyd and Jim Cummings) tries to sabotage their plans and end the Russian Royal Family forever…

anastasia

I absolutely loved this film! Why I’ve never seen it before, I don’t know but it was amazing. Maybe I loved it because it brought back some nostalgia of my childhood or maybe it’s because it was just so captivating. It was everything I could’ve wanted from a princess film. The characters were well rounded – Anastasia was feisty and loveable and Dimitri was the perfect con man until his feelings get in the way.

The musical numbers in this film were really catchy and I already knew some of them but I’m not sure where from, I felt like Anastasia myself trying to remember things! I definitely downloaded the album and listened to it on repeat afterwards because the music was beautiful. Anastasia’s songs were uplifting and full of all kinds of emotion as well as enjoyable and catchy. I thought there was maybe a couple of songs too little but that might be my musical loving heart talking – all the songs that were in the film were well written and fit into the storyline with ease, they weren’t forced in.

I really enjoyed the story and thought that it was full of excitement and adventure with twists and turns in all the right places. I really got into the film and found myself sympathising with Anastasia and wanting to help her on her way. Dimitri was the typical love interest but it doesn’t play on that aspect right until the end, there’s a very ‘will they, won’t they?’ vibe throughout the whole film which I loved as it kept you watching. Vladimir was a wonderful comic relief character and his lines were spoken at all the right times and who can forget the cute puppy sidekick Pooka who was just too cute to handle.

Rasputin was a great bad guy and the fact that he was undead made him even more creepy and disgusting. His sidekick, Bartok, had great character development and went from helping Rasputin to wondering whether his plan was the right thing to do and (as I said earlier) I’m pretty sure Bartok had his own films which I remember watching when I was little!

Overall I loved this film and I can’t for the life of me think of anything bad to say about it. Maybe it’s because I’m a sucker for animate princess films with musical numbers in them or maybe it’s because Anastasia is just a great film in general. For me, it had everything there that I wanted and I couldn’t really ask for anything more (apart from more musical numbers – oh and bring the show to west end please!). So this film is getting my highest rating of 5* because I can’t give it any less – for me, it was perfect and I’m probably going to go and watch it again right now…

Let me know what your favourite animated film is down in the comments! Also, someone let me know if I’m making this whole Bartok movie thing up! Maybe I’ll review that next if it’s real?

Until next time,

==Signature==

One thought on “Anastasia (1997)

  1. With it’s talking bat and undead zombie Rasputin I have so much love for this film. I enjoyed it on first viewing,and it’s still as wonderful today. 1990’s vintage Meg Ryan truly could do no wrong!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

