2010 · Movies

Nerve (2016)

Hello everybody, I hope you’re all feeling brave because this movie review is all about truth or dare – minus the truth… That’s right, I’m reviewing Nerve! I’ve wanted to see this film since it came out and now that I’ve finally got to watch it, I can’t wait to review it for you all! Nerve looked really interesting to me because it was something I’ve not really seen before from a film, plus it has Emma Roberts and Dave Franco starring in it so I kind of had to watch it.

Nerve focuses on Vee, a high school senior, who finds herself immersed in an online game of truth or dare. Her every move starts to become manipulated by an anonymous community of “watchers” and she soon finds out that the game is more than what it seems…

“Are you a watcher or a player?”

nerve

So, the film opens really strangely, you log onto a computer which belongs to Vee and you’re straight in there. You learn a lot about Vee from just the opening few minutes – she is a shy, reserved girl who is scared to tell her mum that her real dream is to go to art school which is on the other side of the country. If you’re feeling like you’re stuck in a loop then you’ll definitely relate to Vee but hopefully you won’t feel the need to follow in her insane footsteps and start doing some crazy dares!

I really liked the character of Vee in this film because she felt relatable, I found that I was putting myself in her shoes and I could feel what it was like to want to do or say something but not quite being able to get it out. Enter Ian. Dave Franco plays alongside Roberts as Ian, an outgoing and daring young man; after being kissed by Vee for her first Nerve dare, they team up and he pushes her out her comfort zone resulting in a lot of dares being completed together.

The storyline felt quite unique to me. I’m not sure if I’ve just not seen a film which has similarities or whether I really am seeing something new in this – maybe it’s kind of like a twisted Jumanji? That’s the only game related film I know of… Anyway, the storyline really captivated me from just the trailers and I couldn’t wait to see what it had in store. I can safely say that I was not disappointed with the results of the film and it was something that I found totally enjoyable. I liked the fact that at times, you thought Franco’s character was the bad guy and I liked that it showed a few different people doing dares too.

nerve2

Like I said before, the characters were great but they were your typical high school characters really – nothing too special or unique on that front but still enjoyable. I thought that the mystery of the film was something that really held my attention; you were guessing the whole time whether characters were meant to be the bad guy or not. The ending was actually pretty good for something that had a dip in the middle and I really thought it was rapidly slowing down but it managed to pick itself up again.

Overall, this film was really entertaining for me and I loved the idea of having something that you’re almost trapped in unless you want to lose everything you’ve worked towards. Having an introverted main character meet an extravert was kind of predictable but I suppose it wouldn’t have worked any other way. The ending was actually not as predictable as I thought it was going to be and I really was guessing what was going to happen right until the last minute (maybe I’m just stupid but I couldn’t figure it out!) This film is going to get a strange 3.8* out of the maximum of 5*. Not quite enough for a 4* rating as it was a short film at 1h 36min so sometimes it felt rushed but it was definitely stronger than a 3.5*.

Are you a watcher or a player? Let me know in the comments whether you’d ever take part in something like this, I know I’m nowhere near brave enough!

Until next time,

==Signature==

Leave a Reply

