2010 · Movies · New Releases

A Street Cat Named Bob (2016)

Hello everybody! I hope you’re all okay, I’ve got a pretty late night review for you tonight but I just couldn’t wait to review this film so I’ve come straight out the cinema and onto my laptop! I have been so excited to see this film, especially as I love cats and have recently become a cat mum myself – Mabel says hello to you all!

A Street Cat Named Bob is a true story and was first released as a book in 2012. This feel good film is the story of how James, a busker and a recovering addict, is helped to transform his life with the help of Bob, a stray ginger cat. Together, they take on the world and discover that as long as they have each other, anything is possible.

astreetcatnamedbob

Firstly, I have to say that this film is really up there with my favourites. It’s funny and it’s sad and it’s dramatic and it makes you feel amazing! If Bob alone isn’t enough to convince you to go and see this film then you should definitely go and see it for Luke Treadaway’s amazing acting. He did a superb job of making you feel everything that the character was going through, you wanted to reach out and help him right there but obviously, Bob was the star of the show for me! I’m pretty sure that Bob in this film is the original Bob who lives with the actual James Bowen which is awesome, please correct me if I’m wrong!

The story of James and his struggles was absolutely heart wrenching and I honestly did feel  like I wanted to step into the screen and give him a hug. I spent the whole film totally entranced and didn’t look away once – the story really got your emotions stirring and at some points I was sat on the edge of my seat praying that James and Bob would come out the other side unscathed. The music in the film is really enjoyable as well – with James’ busking it opened the door to have  original songs in the film which were simply his voice and a beat up acoustic guitar. It reminded me a lot of the film Once and again, it’s another film I loved so I couldn’t fault that part. I know it’s not to some peoples taste and I understand how some people might say that it takes away from the film as a whole but for me, it was one of my favourite parts. With panning shots of James and Bob busking away, it allowed you to really enjoy the moment as if you were part of the audience watching.

I honestly can’t think of anything bad to say about this film apart from the fact that 1h 43 minutes was not enough time for me to appreciate and love Bob and James as much as I wanted to! I was completely captivated for the whole time this film was on and the time flew, it didn’t feel that long at all.

I think you can all guess what rating I’m going to give this film. For me, it has to be 5* out of 5 for this film. I adored it and I have a feeling that when I watch it at home, Mabel will think its purrfect. Maybe her and Bob could be best friends? Maybe I’ll also knit her a tiny scarf so she can be like Bob and then we can read the book together as well! What I do know is that this film was the highlight of my November and I could go and watch it again right now if I had the chance! Fantastic Beasts has a lot to live up to, especially as it has no main character cats in it… Let’s have one last look at Bob’s cute face before we go!

bob

He’s such a cutie! Let me know if you enjoyed this film below in the comments! Have you read the book? Did the film make you want to adopt a million cats like it did for me?

Until next time,

==Signature==

Leave a Reply

