Books

All The Bright Places (2015)

Hello everybody! I’ve got something other than a movie review today, it’s a book! I’ve been reading this book for a while now (nearly 4 months to be exact) and I’ve only just managed to finish it, mainly because I’m lazy and would rather watch a film than read a book at the moment… This is my first time reviewing a book in a long time so please bare with me!

All The Bright Places is from author Jennifer Niven and is described on the front of the book as:

The story of a girl who learns to live from a boy who wants to die

Now, if that doesn’t peak your interest then I don’t think this book is for you. This book could be considered as a trigger for those who suffer with mental health problems, loss of a family member and/or suicidal thoughts but it is a good book nonetheless.

Violet Markey is suffering badly after the loss of her sister, Eleanor. Theodore Finch is suffering badly with his own thoughts and mental health. After the two of them get paired up for a school assignment, Finch and Violet find that maybe there is still a pocket of sunshine in the dark world that they seem to live in.

allthebrightplaces

I had high expectations for this book. For some reason, I’m attracted to novels which tackle the subject of mental health and I can’t seem to get enough of them. I really liked the sound of this book and was interested in how the story would work out but I have to say, I wasn’t that impressed.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I absolutely would recommend this book and for the majority of the story, I really enjoyed it. It really took you on a rollercoaster of emotions and with a mix of chapters from both Violet and Finch’s view, it was kept interesting when it easily could’ve become just another mental health book. The fact that they used each other to find the happiness in the world was beautiful and watching their relationship and confidence blossom was something lovely and special. However, the further the book went on, the less I enjoyed it. I feel like they didn’t need to end up together like every other boy/girl duo seems to do and I also really didn’t like the ending!

The ending of the book seemed to just finish. That sounds silly but there was a few chapters of a kind of winding down and then BAM, it was done. Not much explaining, not much of an ending. Maybe that was the whole point, to be a metaphor almost of how things went down in the book but I really didn’t enjoy it. It lowered the rating of the book for me.

So, after a very brief review, I’m going to have to give this book a 3* rating out of 5. I enjoyed it to a point and then it kind of unravelled and all my interest was lost, I couldn’t even be bothered to finish it even though I had 3 chapters left (I did, obviously, but it was a struggle).

I’m really sorry that this was a short review, it’s late and I’m awful at reviewing books – especially when I’ve not enjoyed them.

Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Let me know down in the comments!

Until next time,

==Signature==

Leave a Reply

